Hello from Virginia

Discussion in 'Introductions - New User Forum' started by DCHunting, Sep 20, 2019.

1. DCHunting

DCHunting Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Good morning everyone, I'm new to bow hunting just having started shooting late 2018 and gotten my hunting license this year for the first time -- looking forward to joining this community and learning from all the experienced bow hunters on these forums.

As a Virginia resident I've read up on potential locations to begin my hand at hunting Whitetail but am a firm believer that experience always trumps research -- if there is anybody here from Virginia that could lend some pointers as to where they feel are the ideal places to hunt in this state, I would greatly appreciate the insight

Thanks to all

2. Brandon backwoods

Brandon backwoods Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Depends on what part of Virginia your on im next to Kentucky on the Southwest side down here in the south we have alot of nice places up north its mostly deer farms and bait sites on state owned lands that i dont call hunting but like i said it depends

Rebel

3. DCHunting

DCHunting Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks for reply Brandon, I live in Northern Virginia right outside Washington DC -- I'm fairly certain there's not going to be much opportunity or land for hunting around this area so I anticipate having to drive down South for weekends to do my hunts. Would ideally prefer to try my hand at spot and stalk hunting as opposed to tree stands but from what I've read it seems treestands are the norm here on PALs.

4. Vabowman

Vabowman Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Lots of private private land here in the southeastern part of the state. Not much in the way of good public land. Private land is something you pretty much have to pay to play on

5. John T.

John T. Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received: