Hawk Ultra-lite climber

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Mod-it, Sep 10, 2020.

1. Mod-it

Mod-it Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I just bought this yesterday evening, only option there was in town on short notice. Haven't had a chance to practice with it yet, will mess around with it in elk camp before taking it into the woods to find an active wallow to sit on. I've never tried a climber before.

How bad is the learning curve for a climber? My biggest concern is how a tree narrows as you go up, how much of a problem is this? I assume I'll want the cables as tight as I can use them at the base and still climb? Also I see that once at hunting height I need to install straps on the top and bottom (motorcycle style straps), I'm a little nervous about how well it holds while I shift around on it to get the straps installed. I don't plan to sit real high with it, probably somewhere between 16'-18'.
    I have the tether between the top and bottom installed, and will of course wear my harness.
    Any tips or advice would be great. TIA

2. LittleChief

LittleChief Administrator

Dislikes Received:
    I'm not familiar with that climber. I'll have to look it up.

I only hunt out of climbers and I use Summit Vipers.

The issue with the tree narrowing as you climb can be frustrating at first, but you learn fairly quickly how much angle you need to add at ground level. Some trees don't taper much at all, but I've climbed some trees that tapered so much I had to adjust the cables mid-climb. That takes some acrobatics on the bottom platform, but I can still do it and I'm 56 and not in the best shape of my life. Most of the time, though, I can just look at how much the tree tapers and get the stand adjusted properly so that when I get to hunting height it's pretty much level.