Handheld GPS

Discussion in 'Equipment Reviews' started by jfergus7, Sep 8, 2008.

1. jfergus7

jfergus7 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    I am curious how many of you have a handheld GPS? I have a cheap one that I got a few years ago and it really isn't good for much. I like having the maps to see right where I am and where I am heading.

I get a nice discount on Garmin so I just ordered the Rino 530Hcx. Have any of you used or seen this one before? It looks like the top of the line for Rino's which have the built in 2 way radio's.

2. peakrut

peakrut Facebook Admin

Dislikes Received:
    I love my Garmin E Trex and I have been using it for 3 years now and dont really need anything else. I download my waypoints on
    expertgps.com.

3. MechDoc

MechDoc Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I use the Garmin 60Csx.The thing is awesome color,expandable memory etc. even gets 5 sattelites inside of structures.Im sure the Rhino will have the same performance and the 2 way feature is nice.I would check to see if it works with other 2 way radios not just with other Rhinos.

4. jfergus7

Dislikes Received:
    It says that it will work with all standard 2way radios. I really like that feature cause I use those things all the time for ice fishing tournemants. I should have it tomorrow. Cant wait to check it out!

5. jfergus7

Dislikes Received:
    Got my gps today. This thing has a manual like a new computer. It is going to take me the entire season to figure this thing out!

6. peakrut

peakrut Facebook Admin

Dislikes Received:
    Keep us posted and does that GPS have satalite images?

7. jfergus7

Dislikes Received:
    That would be a cool feature. This thing is pretty awsome though. I am really going to like the radio and weather radio feature. I need to get the lakes map for the upcoming ice fishing season. That would be a great help to me.

8. peakrut

peakrut Facebook Admin

Dislikes Received:
    I am going to do some online research for this model.