Good compound Bow???

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Jamie71, Aug 9, 2014.

1. Jamie71

Jamie71 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hey there, I am new to bowhunting and would like everyones advice and suggestions. I am looking to buy a bow but not sure which one to get since i am new to bow hunting. I use a rifle now but would like to bow hunt also. and there are so many different brands and styles out there. Any suggestions and advice would be greatly appreciated. thanks

Jamie

2. KjKlump

KjKlump Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    For me , and this is how I do most things in life.
    First I start with a budget, then I look for the known brands.
    Then I asks myself a few questions.
    Intended use, obviously bow hunting in this case. But ground blind, tree stand , wide open?
    Is there support for it? I.E. local dealer, good customer service, a buddy for knows about them.
    That will narrow it down a bit and then go try them out and see what you like.
    Hope it helps a little, good luck

3. Hillbilly Jedi

Hillbilly Jedi Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    There are a lot of bows on the market. You can spend from $400 to $1200 just on the bow itself. Like KjKlump said start with a budget. I would suggest going to a local archery shop, not one of the "box stores" to look at bows. A local shop is more likely to fit you properly and help you find the bow that's right for you, rather than sell you something base on brand name or something like that. I'm not totally discounting the big stores because they can have some good information, but localy owned shops will give you some more personalized attention and focus on you and what you really need. I'd trust my local shop to give me good advice. I've already gotten some questionable advice from one of the big stores.