GOING IN BLIND: Developing a Plan Using Arial Photos (Location 1)

Discussion in 'Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by PolarBoy, Oct 9, 2015.

1. PolarBoy

PolarBoy Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I am a young, self-taught bow hunter, which puts me far behind most of you gnarly woodsmen out there, and why I am coming to YOU for some help; I would very much appreciate any feedback.

When I was younger, I was asked to spend a couple of years helping my uncle at the family farm in Northwestern Minnesota. He had suffered a back injury the year before and needed some help with the heavier lifting around the yard. It was hard work most of the time, but I did get the rare opportunity to scout and map the habits of the deer frequenting our area on a daily basis.

In short, I haven’t been back up there to hunt for a few years now, so I consider much of what I have learned over my time spent there to be relatively stale (I could be wrong by saying that). But for all intents and purposes, I am gonna treat this hunt as if I was going in blind. I attached a two maps: one that I constructed after careful observation of deer travel routes and bedding locations from a few years back, and one that is blank (in hopes someone might like to mark it up with their own incites). This is one of the three separate locations that I have monitored over the years, so if this gets good feedback, maybe I’ll post the others. But for as what I would like help on:

DATES: OCTOBER 24[SUP]TH[/SUP]-NOVEMBER 2[SUP]ND[/SUP]

1. What would be the first thing you would do (in terms of scouting) when I first arrive to camp?
      ****What entry points do you suggest according to different wind directions
    2. Where would you hang your stand, according to the map above?
    3. What scents or calls, if any, would you consider using?
    4. Decoy or no decoy?
    5. What would be the keys towards a successful hunt on this property?