Food help for brother who is lactose intolerant!!!

Discussion in 'Big Game Hunting' started by superman, May 24, 2017.

1. superman

superman Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hey everyone quick question, I've been on over a dozen big game hunts and have plenty of " tag soup" in the freezer but been successful as well.. this year 2 of our hunts will be backpack trips 1 into Frank church and other will be into selway Salmon River area in Idaho... My problem is mountain House and several others all have milk/calcium etc in them.. my brother is super lactose intolerant!!! I've googled every thing I can think of to find a product w low calcium... Besides making all the food on our own which isn't likely to taste very good ( Im no expert or chef) besides beef jerky lol!!¡ can anyone suggest a product or a suggestion ??? Thanks everyone

2. CoveyMaster

CoveyMaster Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I'd suggest a diet without lactose.
    Unless you don't like your brother.

Look at Soylent drinks, they are lactose free. I've tried the regular flavor, tastes like Cheerios and milk, I rather liked them. I could live on Clif bars and Soylent and be fine for a week or so. I have milk allergies (dairy allergies) and anything dairy causes a histamine reaction for me, my sinuses plug up and lots of mucus like I've got a cold. Soylent didn't bother me at all, non-dairy. Some of the Clif bars have dairy products like chocolate, I like the oatmeal, raisin.
    Imagine you'll want more than those options but it's a start, maybe.

3. wl704

wl704 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    1) Check out the heathers choice meals-I'm not 100% if they're lactose free but drop her a message and she can advise.