first trad bow harvest

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by maxpetros, Oct 1, 2018.

1. maxpetros

maxpetros Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    well finally finding the time to make this post. I've been MIA for a while now and didn't even get to hunt a day last year and it killed me. missed it so much. fast forward to this summer and i was really excited for season to start. i started shooting a recurve back in may and dove in head first. i absolutely fell in love with traditional archery. i went all in and don't even own a compound anymore. i was shooting every day getting ready for season and was at every 3d shoot within 2 hours for the whole summer. with season fast approaching i was feeling very comfortable even out to 25 yards but had a 20 yard limit for myself. i had been planning to hunt this heavily pressured piece of public ground not too far from me. i was able to locate a killer spot way back in this fairly large area. most of the parking lots had 4-5 cars in them every time i passed them and this one was tucked away and still to this day haven't seen another car there. i found a great spot on a ridge line surrounded by oaks and in close proximity to a bedding area. it was very obvious no one had hunted this section in a while and the deer felt very comfortable. every sit i had in this area was very productive with multiple deer in range every sit. for about the first month of our season in NJ its antlerless only until you get a doe and then you can shoot a buck. i had multiple close calls with a bunch of small bucks including an absolute stud of an 8 broadside at 15 yards ( i had yet to get a doe at this point, so i watched him browse through hopelessly). fast forward to my fifth sit (saturday 9/29), when the requirement to first shoot a doe no longer applied. i was feeling very excited that i wouldn't have to pass any shot opportunities anymore (i was not gonna be picky for my first trad deer). i got into my stand around 3 and an hour later