Fang story, and more pics

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by bloodcrick, Nov 6, 2009.

1. bloodcrick

bloodcrick Moderator/BHOD Prostaff

Dislikes Received:
    Well everyone first of all I am humbled by the kind words, and I read everyone of the replys in the teaser post. Thank you Thank you!! Im sorry for not texting everyone on my contact list, you are all equal in my eyes, but I couldnt get much done if I was replying all the time :D SO if you dont like LONG read, skip this and move to the pics.
    Im going to start the story back in December of last season. I had hunted hard last year and ended up getting on 6-7 p&y contenders, but as usual something always went wrong and I never let an arrow fly. I studied some arials and decided on a bottleneck between two strip pits that was butted up to a bedding area and was several hundred yards back off a picked corn field food source. With 10 minutes of shooting light left one evening I start hearing antlers clashing close but cant see them. finally out walks 5 bucks that had grouped back together, and three were shooters. One was a big 7 point (remember this later in story) one was wierd and very palmented and his points pointed out to the side like a moose and thats the name he received. and the other was just big with a chocolate rack (my buck) as my luck goes I was perched in a very large pine tree and these guys were behind where i couldnt shoot. Light faded and they moved on to food.
    Fast forward to 2/9/08, Im shed hunting where Im thinking these guys bed and lord and behold I find my first matching set of the year 5 feet apart, and they still have fresh blood and wax ring intact. I notice the right G-2 has a funky split at the top and both tips have tiny acorn points making them look like teranchala fangs. He gets the nickname Fang ;) and both brows are snapped off.