Discussing Hero Shots

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by carnivore1, Feb 27, 2013.

1. carnivore1

carnivore1 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Hey guys, I am no expert photographer, but I thought I would bring up a topic that is a pet-peeve of mine.
    I am as avid a bowhunter as anyone, and I have owned a meat locker for 12 years and been in the meat business for 17. I have noticed in a lot of the hero shots I see, not only on this website but also other places that the picture is taken before the deer has been field dressed. To me, there is nothing great about a picture of someone gripping the rack of a nice deer (or any deer), with the deer looking like its about to give birth to quintuplets.
    I process nearly 1000 deer per year and we see all kinds of field care jobs, and I can tell you that it is very important to field dress your deer as soon as you get to it. Without getting too in-depth, when the deer dies the internal organs cease operation as well, therefore the gas that is created by the ruminant stomach begins to build up and can no longer be passed along the digestive tract. That gas is not the best smelling stuff, and the longer it sets inside the carcass, the more it taints the meat you are going to eat.

Here are several reasons to field dress your deer as soon as you get to it:

1. The sooner its done, the better the quality of the meat.
    2. With the guts out, its a heck of a lot easier to drag the deer.
    3. If you field dress the deer in the field you don't have to find somewhere to dispose of them later.
    4. Its easier to load into your vehicle minus that weight.
    5. Without a large bloated belly, your deer looks better in all the pictures and it makes the rack look bigger. (IMO)

Sorry to rant, but I had to vent. Feel free to add your opinions.

2. jfergus7

jfergus7 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received: