Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Deer Tracking Dogs (Trainers/Owners)

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Shocker99, Oct 26, 2023.

1. Shocker99

Shocker99 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I realize there is already a couple threads related to using tracking dogs but didn't see any that really focused on the training or owning of them. I’m a beginner owner who has chosen to stumble through training. Hopefully without making too many mistakes. I know i will make some. I also know this thread may not get a ton of traffic, as not many people have tracking dogs, but wanted to put it out here in hopes that whoever may have experience or is interested in learning how to train or use a tracking dog may kick around ideas, offer advice, and maybe touch on the do’s and don'ts. This has become such a hot topic in the recent past. Its one of the common phrases heard in hunting lingo now (“better call a dog”) when there is a questionable hit. Almost as common as “When in doubt back out”. Both are good advice in many questionable shot situations. So does anyone else out there own a dog(s)they track with? Trainers?

I’ll start,