Deer Calls

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by bauer6, Oct 10, 2012.

1. bauer6

bauer6 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Alright, I have been hunting for Ten years now and not once in those Ten years have i ever used a deer call while hunting. So i thought i would ask you guys on some advice. Im looking at the Knight and Hale pack rack deer call for rattling, or the Knight and Hale pack rack Magnum. Is there much of a difference in these two calls out in the field? Also Im looking into grunt calls and leaning towards Stratton because they are a local and Im big on buying local and USA made products. But Im open to hear your reviews on products you have used too! Also is it only helpful to use these calls in rut or can you during post, and pre?

Sorry Im new to the whole deer calling but i was brought up to just find a path a tree and sit and wait haha

Thanks!

2. Vendetta

Vendetta Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I love the pack rack. I have the normal one, cannot comment on the other. I have a few grunt tubes, they all work, just sound a bit different. I have the Primos Up Roar, a K&H, and a flextone. I like them all. Have the 3 sizes of can calls too, they're effective also. I called in several deer this morning with the simple grunt tube by flextone and the normal doe bleet.

3. bowsie15

bowsie15 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I use calls more when I jump deer so they are confused in what I am. I have grunted at bounding deer that have stopped and came back. Just calling from a stand I haven't been successful at all. I just go the death chamber and going to try that this year. But if I were you I would carry a grunt tied to your neck. If you jump them on the way in grunt you never know!!!

4. Cablebob

Cablebob Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received: