Completely new

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Sfsapper, Mar 29, 2017.

1. Sfsapper

Sfsapper Newb

Dislikes Received:
    So a little background, I posted in the intro forum. I'm 40 my son will be 14 in may. I rifle hunted in jersey from about the age of 12 to about 18 when I joined the army and haven't hunted since. I am completely relearning to hunt and teaching my son along the way. Chose bow hunting because it seems a little more rewarding.

so my question is I just ordered a 2017 halon, I was second guessing if I should have ordered the 32, I have read alot and it says the 32 is more stable and forgiving. But the non-32 is more compact and better for moving around especialy in the sticks. Should I have gotten the 32 instead since I'm new to bow hunting and it's more stable and forgiving, or does it not realy matter that much. Also trying to decide between the tru-fire max edge or the Scott echo, even thought about the tru-fire panic x but that thing is impossible to find so I'm giving up on that.

2. MGH_PA

MGH_PA Moderator

Dislikes Received:
    Welcome aboard!

Did you shoot the Halon that you purchased?

If it felt good to you and you were comfortable with it, then you made a great decision. The bow has to fit and feel right to you.

3. Fitz

Fitz Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    I tend to like a little bit longer axel-to-axel bow myself. Having said that, I'm not sure most people would feel a big difference between the Halon and Halon 32. I've only put a few arrows through my 32, and I really like it, but I also really liked my Halon.

Welcome to the site, glad you're here!

Josh/OH likes this.
  4. Sfsapper

Sfsapper Newb

Dislikes Received: