Completely New With Lots of (probably basic) Questions

Discussion in 'Introductions - New User Forum' started by necktweaker, Dec 30, 2017.

1. necktweaker

necktweaker Newb

Dislikes Received:
    tl;dr I'm new to archery, hunting in general, and bowhunting. I'm feeling a bit overwhelmed and am looking for resources to help me learn. Ideally, I would like to find a local mentor.
    ---
    Hey all,

As the title says, I am completely new to bowhunting. By "completely new", I mean that I am new to bowhunting, archery, and hunting in general. I have been doing a lot of reading lately, and still feel a bit lost. I am able to find lots of information about archery, but the hunting aspect has me feeling a bit overwhelmed. I obviously know that the first thing I need to do is take the hunter safety course.

I am living in SouthEastern Mississippi (Coastal, around the Gulfport area). I am hoping to feel informed and practiced enough by the beginning of the 2018-2019 deer season to at least be comfortable making an attempt. I plan on attempting to hunt whitetail and wild hogs. Unfortunately, I am also new to MS and do not know anybody down here that hunts (or anybody at all who hunts).

I have quite a few questions, which might be very basic but at this point I kinda feel like I need an idiot's guide to the whole process:
    1. Are there any good resources that discuss how to find a spot on public land to hunt? I know how to find public land, but am I supposed to just wander around aimlessly in the backwoods looking for signs of deer (keeping in mind that I am inexperienced in scouting)? Or is there a good way to narrow down the search prior to stepping foot in the woods?