Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Choosing Arrows

Discussion in 'Equipment Reviews' started by Bleedin'Buck, Jan 15, 2009.

1. Bleedin'Buck

Bleedin'Buck Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    ok so like i said before i am brand new to the sport well to the serious aspect of it i have shot my uncles bows and what not but this is the first time i am buying my own set up and would like any help i can recieve on all the assc. such as sights,rests,stabilizers and everything else now i know i am going to be told by atleast one person BUY A BOWTECH lol but i am going to shoot a bunch of bows at a local shop then decide from there. also maybe you could tell me which arrows are better for starting out carbon or aluminum. thanks in advance for any help you can offer.

2. racewayking

racewayking Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Carbon have gained in popularity over the years so most will tell you carbon. I switched to Carbon a few years ago and haven't looked back; however some great hunters in here still swear by aluminum. Regardless you need to make sure that you get the correct spine and arrow length plus have your shop tune your bow so that you are shooting accurately. Carbons will generally be more expensive but also lighter and faster in most cases versus aluminum. Carbons tend to break with excessive force when hitting objects where as aluminum bends and can be straightened back out in many cases. Both shoot great out of a Hoyt;) Good luck with finding your new rig!

3. Bleedin'Buck

Bleedin'Buck Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    thank you for that info

4. Schultzy

Schultzy Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Good post Jeff!!

5. Buck Magnet

Buck Magnet Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received: