Center serving

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Jaberry, Dec 6, 2022.

1. Jaberry

Jaberry Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I want to reserve my center serving on my mathews v3, It's a gas string. My question is what diameter center serving should I use? Was looking at power grip or 62xs? Thank you

Sent from my SM-G998U using Bowhunting.com Forums mobile app

2. Mod-it

Mod-it Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I just started learning about doing my own center serving repair too. I will assume this is your first time, please pardon the length this turned into, I wanted to cover things I thought would be helpful. And realize that this is stuff I've learned from just recently researching it and I do not have a lot of experience in actually doing it lol.

If you were happy with your nock fit with the original serving, then you need to figure out what size it was. You will need to measure the string with calipers or a c-mic, do not squeeze really hard so that you're compressing it. Measure the string where there is no serving and then measure a good portion of the center serving (not the worn nock point or within 1" of the ends) and then do the math. Most string makers shoot for a finished diameter around .111 to .114, depending on what nock you use.

I use Goldtip acculite nocks, they are a bit bigger. My string and center serving diameter on my Solution (Catfish string) is .116", fits my nocks great. Mike at Catfish had asked what nocks I use when I ordered.
    My new/used Revolt-x came with a Threadz string on it, it has a .112" finished diameter at the center serving. My GT nocks fall off of it, but a Bohning nock fits perfectly.

Example of figuring out your current center serving diameter:
    Your Gas string where there is no serving measures .095".
    It measures .113 at a good portion of the current center serving.
    .113" - .095" = .018" center serving diameter.