The call is not made until the ball reaches it's apex AND the infielder has established himself under the ball. Both happened and the ss peeled off at the same time the ump was putting his hand up for the out call. Mlb network showed other plays from this season in the same area being called infield fly. From that standpoint, the call was correct ,BUT, imo, that deep in the outfield should never be considered as "normal effort" They are pros and make some plays look normal but they are not easy. Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2
That ball was 40 ft from hitting the ground and he wasn't established under it. I'm not saying it made a difference, but it sure could've.
Yes he was, he was setup for the catch. The fact it landed a couple feet from him is irrelevant. The umpire has no way of knowing that when he makes the call. The ump looks at the ball. When it reaches the apex then he looks at the fielder. If the fielder is set up for the catch, the fly rule is called. When the ump looked at the fielder, he was setup for the catch. What happened next was where it got confusing. As the ump was raising his hand for the out/ in field fly call, ss peeled off. Then we saw what happened next. Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2