Can't tune broadheads

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Arthur Haines, Jun 16, 2020.

  1. trial153

    trial153 Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Posts:
    7,845
    Likes Received:
    1,212
    Dislikes Received:
    18
    Location:
    NY
    Sounds like your really chasing your tale. I see this so many times with people tuning, they are making adjustments that are counterproductive, or they are not interpreting the results correctly
    The fact that you shimed one cam is an indication this is happening. You need a total reset.


    Here is what I would do.
    First re shim the bow, top and bottom. Your shims should look like this ||○| on that right handed pse.
    Then re-install the cables, start with 5 twists in each. Then time the cams so they are hitting dead even. Put three twists in the string. Make sure bottomed the bow out and still timed perfect. Then Equally add or subtract twists from the both cables till your peak weight is about a pound over.
    At this point reset your rest. Start at 13/16. Tie a nock and d loop that is just hair higher then level.

    At that point your ready to start tuning. When your getting a clean bare shaft at 3 and 6 yards your there.
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2020
    tynimiller, dnoodles and Fix like this.
  2. Fix

    Fix Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2016
    Posts:
    4,587
    Likes Received:
    4,907
    Dislikes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Western NY
    Can't ask for a better answer than that.
     
    tynimiller and dnoodles like this.
  3. dnoodles

    dnoodles Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Posts:
    7,161
    Likes Received:
    6,748
    Dislikes Received:
    10
    Location:
    People's Republic of IL
    and here is where you surpassed my ability to assist further.
     
  4. SkylarPreston

    SkylarPreston Newb

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2020
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    I don’t know very much about actual Bow tuning. but I know when you have new strings your supposed to shoot 200 or more shots for the strings to “Settle” in. Maybe that’s what it is.


    Sent from my iPhone using Bowhunting.com Forums
     
  5. Mod-it

    Mod-it Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2019
    Posts:
    459
    Likes Received:
    335
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Idaho
    This depends on the type of string you install.
    Many are offered, and preferred now, that are pre-stretched so they won't stretch or "rotate". They can be tuned right away.
    Factory strings that come on a bow from most manufacturer's aren't pre-stretched, and in that case what you say is true. I've never had a factory string that didn't stretch and have some peep rotation after the first couple hundred arrows.
    I recently replaced the factory string on my bow with a Catfish Customs pre-stretched string. It hasn't moved at all, easily have over 500 arrows through it.
     
    SkylarPreston likes this.
  6. SkylarPreston

    SkylarPreston Newb

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2020
    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Nice. I didn’t know they made them pre stretched


    Sent from my iPhone using Bowhunting.com Forums
     

Share This Page