Canon camera repair?

Discussion in 'Videography & Photography' started by hunterman927, Jun 18, 2019.

  1. hunterman927

    hunterman927 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Posts:
    485
    Likes Received:
    339
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sallisaw, OK
    Hey guys,
    Has anyone had any experience in getting a canon video camera repaired? My lanc remote thing broke off inside my camera. Best Buy won’t repair it and for canon to do it, I have to mail it off before I can even get an estimate on how much it’ll cost. Has anyone had to do this before?
     
  2. Rick James

    Rick James Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Posts:
    5,041
    Likes Received:
    763
    Dislikes Received:
    3
    Location:
    N. Illinois
    Yes. I had the same situation with a smashed G30 a few years ago. It was cheaper for me to buy a refurbished unit then it was for them to complete the repair so that’s what I did at the time.
     
  3. hunterman927

    hunterman927 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Posts:
    485
    Likes Received:
    339
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sallisaw, OK
    That’s what I was afraid of! I might sell it as it and find another one.
     
  4. HuntMaine

    HuntMaine Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Posts:
    870
    Likes Received:
    151
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Can you get a small EZ-out and get it out yourself?
     
  5. John T.

    John T. Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    136
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Might be cheaper to buy a new one. I bought the wife a point and shoot Fuji outfit. Later the lens wouldn't focus or retract. Camera shop wanted $100 at fix it. The camera cost $85 at Wally World. Tossed it and bought another camera. Let's face it, we live in a disposable world.
     
    hunterman927 likes this.
  6. hunterman927

    hunterman927 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Posts:
    485
    Likes Received:
    339
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sallisaw, OK
    I tried that and it would budge. Even if I did, I still need the port fixed because it would probably have a loose connection. It broke the plastic ring of the port at the top of it. I’m probably screwed lol.
     
  7. hunterman927

    hunterman927 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Posts:
    485
    Likes Received:
    339
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sallisaw, OK
    Exactly! Everything is disposable nowadays! I’m shopping around for a new one. I’ve thought about getting a new DSLR for a much crisper picture but I’m not sure yet.
     
  8. drslyr

    drslyr Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Posts:
    690
    Likes Received:
    160
    Dislikes Received:
    2
    Location:
    western ma.
    Been thinkin about gettin a new wife.......
     
  9. hunterman927

    hunterman927 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2016
    Posts:
    485
    Likes Received:
    339
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sallisaw, OK
    Good luck with that lol!
     
  10. John T.

    John T. Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    Posts:
    387
    Likes Received:
    136
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    My father wanted to trade his 40 for two 20s. Didn't work out. As for me, one per lifetime is enough.
    FWIW, I have an ancient Canon T70, 35mm. I tossed a video camera- the disk wouldn't download as it was for an ancient MS program. A retired professional photographer said the T70 has no resale value...toss it. He did the same thing with a couple of cameras he had.
     

Share This Page