Camcorder with Lanc terminal

Discussion in 'Videography & Photography' started by dfal, Nov 19, 2015.

  1. dfal

    dfal Newb

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Posts:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    I am looking for a "cheaper" starter camcorder. I have searched and read a lot of old threads on this. I was about ready to buy the Canon Vixia hf r600 , and I saw that there is no Lanc port for this camera, along with a lot of the other cheaper camcorders. So I guess I'm wondering if anyone out there has a suggestion on a camera similar in quality/price to this camera with a Lanc port, or is that only for higher quality cameras? thanks
     
  2. Windwalker7

    Windwalker7 Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Posts:
    552
    Likes Received:
    91
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    One of my cameras is the Sony Handi Cam CX-220. It does not have the port either. My first 2 years filming I used the Sony. It was tuff to do but doable without the lanc.
     
  3. Skywalker

    Skywalker Grizzled Veteran

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Posts:
    6,850
    Likes Received:
    806
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NW Missouri
    Yeah, get one with a lanc if at all possible. It just cuts down on excess movement and allows you to operate the camera with one hand. If you are buddy filming, it's not quite as important as if you are solo hunting.

    It's still pretty pricey, but check out the Canon Refurbished G10 or G20.
     
  4. deertraks

    deertraks Newb

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2013
    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Middle Tennessee
    I have a Sony CX110 and it has a port for a lanc remote called the Sony Commander. It has a on/off button along with the record, zoom and even a feature to take still pictures. The on/off feature is pretty neat that you can turn the camera on or off whenever you need it. The only downside to this camera is that it has no external mic port. Neat little camera for under $200. I think the remote was around $50.
     
  5. Matt/TN

    Matt/TN Die Hard Bowhunter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Posts:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    242
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Blountville, TN
    Try to save a little longer and get the Canon G20. You won't be disappointed


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. JackedUp!

    JackedUp! Newb

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Wisconsin
    I'm interested in the Canon G20, but I saw a video which the user stated that when you plug in your remote, you're no longer able to use auto focus. Is this true?
     
  7. Ryan A

    Ryan A Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Posts:
    306
    Likes Received:
    12
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    That is not true. You can still use AF if you wish..


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. JackedUp!

    JackedUp! Newb

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Wisconsin
    Awesome, thank you.
     
  9. Matt/TN

    Matt/TN Die Hard Bowhunter

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Posts:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    242
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Blountville, TN
    I use the AF for interviews a lot on my G20 with Varizoom


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. joot

    joot Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Posts:
    103
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    G10 might be a bit cheaper... I have one and it served me good for a number of years now...
     
  11. drslyr

    drslyr Weekend Warrior

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Posts:
    730
    Likes Received:
    191
    Dislikes Received:
    2
    Location:
    western ma.
    you just can't beat a hfg20. Its a fantastic cam and now less than half of what I pd for it. 1500. Lots of ports for those extra toys to add on as you can afford them. Shotgun mic, lanc remote,audio remote ect.
     
  12. Mr.BowJangles

    Mr.BowJangles Newb

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Posts:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ludington, MI
    Another route would be to look into a used Canon Hf S20. I started self filming last fall and bought a Canon HF S10, which was a great starter camera as well, but I wanted to be able to use a remote and didn't have a LANC port to run one. Ended up buying the HF S20, which is more or less the same as the HF S10, with a LANC port. Bought it used on Ebay for $250. That being said, if money wasn't an issue, I would get a Canon G30. Great camera, but they run around $700+. Good luck!
     
  13. JackedUp!

    JackedUp! Newb

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Central Wisconsin
    I just picked up the G20 and I'm liking it. Still playing around with the settings, but I'm stoked about putting it to use.
     
  14. bloodcrick

    bloodcrick Moderator/BHOD Prostaff

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Posts:
    11,155
    Likes Received:
    343
    Dislikes Received:
    0
    Location:
    southern Indiana
    If at possible def get something with the LANC port, so much easier for self filming with a controller
     

Share This Page