Broadhead shots way off. HELP

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Topher, Dec 13, 2013.

1. Topher

Topher Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hi Guys,
    I'm kinda new to bow hunting. I've been shooting since last year trying to get good enough to go hunting. I'm decent at 50 yards, good at 40 and balls on at 30.

Well here is my question to all you masters of the trade...
    For the first time I practiced with my actual broad heads today. I figured I'd get the feel of them even though they are the same weight as my practice tips, 125 grams, and the same arrows I practice with. After consistently shooting tight groups with practice tips I pulled out a brand new broad head on a brand new arrow and send it down. It hits about a foot low-left (8 o'clock), huh, that's weird, send second arrow, same result. I shot all my broad heads and got the same results. I switched arrows, swapped tips, changed distance, etc. No matter what I did the broad heads went low left. WTF!?!?!?!?!?

Is this a common thing? The fins on the tips looked perfectly straight. What am I missing????

Your help is greatly appreciated.

2. early in

early in Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    First, I need to say that I don't practice with field points because I don't hunt with them. I shoot my Muzzy practice heads that are EXACTLY the same as my hunting heads except they aren't sharp. This gives me a consistant flight with each shot. Many guys will tell you if your bow is "tuned" properly it should shoot broadheads and field points with the same accuracy. Well, this isn't always the case. Try getting practice heads that are the same as your hunting broadheads.

3. Muzzy Man

Muzzy Man Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received: