Bought Hoyt Charger package, have a question...

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by JoeDirt1977, Mar 1, 2013.

1. JoeDirt1977

JoeDirt1977 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    It's my first bow. The package came with a whisker biscuit, but I see others are using a drop away rest. Is there a performance advantage? I'm so new at this that I'm going to stick with the whisker biscuit for now, while I get my feet wet, but I was curious more than anything. If anyone could explain this to me, it would be much appreciated. I'm new to all of this and trying to learn as much as possible. Thanks, guys.

2. Bountyhunter

Bountyhunter Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    The drop aways are really nice, but the Whisker Biscuit is a fine rest. It will be easier for you right now, and you can upgrade a bit later as you said. The Charger is a fine bow. Good choice.

3. hedderickc

hedderickc Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    The advantage with drop away rests is that their is no resistance on the arrow once fired. The rest drops away so the shaft and vanes don't make contact with the rest as it is fired. In a whisker biscuit the shaft and the vanes have to push their way through the whisker part and this decreases your arrow speed. I'm sure their are some other disadvantages as well, but this is definitely the major one. It's a great beginners rest, I started with one as well.

4. bauer6

bauer6 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: