big acre farm hunting

Discussion in 'Whitetail Deer Hunting' started by Garrett Godlewski, Oct 28, 2020.

1. Garrett Godlewski

Garrett Godlewski Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    So this is my first year hunting big farmland, I'm used to hunting small acre woods. I've hunted this farm once or twice in previous years but never really paid attention to it or tried to focus on it. Last year, I hunted it mid/late November and the buck sign was unbelievable so I decided to spend a lot of time/energy on this farm for this year. Anyway, so far this year has been a lot slower than I hoped/expected. when the buck transitioned from the summertime pattern, I wasn't seeing any buck on the property for a while. Now within the last couple week or so, some smaller bucks are starting to filter back onto the area I'm hunting. My stand is on the inside wood edge connecting to a soybean field. My theory/what I'm hoping to be true is that now since the smaller buck are popping up, the bigger ones should be coming back soon? Maybe I'm off but I just was looking for any experiences or info if people hunt big farmland, I'm trying to learn put the pieces together here

2. Vabowman

Vabowman Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    It will take a while for you to learn it. I would just go with your gut and hunt, me personally, I have basically written this season off. it's been awful. I will hunt until the last day of bow season which is Nov 13th. but at this point it will be on the fly and off the hip.

Garrett Godlewski likes this.
  3. Garrett Godlewski

Dislikes Received:
    Yeah part of me wants to focus on my other property and forget the farm, but I know there’s some HUGE buck around so it’s a dilemma..

Sent from my iPhone using Bowhunting.com Forums

4. GregH

GregH Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received: