Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Best Sheddin' Strategies

Discussion in 'Shed Hunting' started by WNYbowhunter, Jan 9, 2009.

1. WNYbowhunter

WNYbowhunter Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Whats everyones favorite strategy for shed hunting? Time? Area? Setup? Im new to shed hunting and could use some pointers. Thanks guys!

2. dukemichaels

dukemichaels Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Strategy? I don't know that one can have a strategy for finding sheds. But I guess it would be "boot rubber".. that's the strategy. Put on the miles and put in the hours and you will find some bone.

What to look for?

Preferred food sources. Where you have been seeing deer feed in during the winter is where you should start. Hit those food sources hard and about every 1 or 2 weeks after sheds start to drop. Only hitting the food sources so as not to push the already stressed and bedded deer.

Once most antlers have fallen.. start trailing back into the bedding.. concentrating on the bedding that's closest to the food first. Paying close attention to deadfalls and the such on south or east facing hillsides. Anywhere a buck can bed and get sun. They LOVE the sun when it's cold.

Continue these steps over and over and over again. If you're not exhausting your legs.. you're not looking hard enough.

Good luck.. and remember.. sheddin' like pimpin' ain't easy.

3. wiaxle

wiaxle Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    What Dukemichaels said, but a few other things that help.

Take a pair of binoculars with you. Will cut down on the false alerts.

Get out after a fresh snow (within a few days) it will help figure out where the deer are, as opposed to looking on trails that have been established for a few weeks, but haven't been used for awhile.