Best Food Plot For Rocky Soil?

Discussion in 'Food Plots & Habitat Improvement' started by Justin Shankle, Nov 26, 2018.

1. Justin Shankle

Justin Shankle Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I hunt in South Central Missouri, pretty close to the Arkansas Missouri state line. I just threw up a ground blind the week before rifle season on the property I hunt on. This is my first year hunting in Missouri, I’ve hunted in Arkansas all my life. I’m hunting on 420 acres that my father in-law owns. My spot consists of a flat surface in the holler of 2 steep hills. As I walk in I’m walking through a really thick cedar thicket then it opens up about 3 acres, that has a little brush and under growth. I will be cutting it out this spring and cleaning it up a lot to grow a nice food plot. What do y’all recommend planting? The soil is fairly good with just a Rock here and there. Thanks in advance and happy hunting!

2. copperhead

copperhead Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    You can't go wrong with clovers. Maybe for the first year try something like Antler Kings Game Changer. The varieties of clover in the blend are made for soils that aren't perfect. As long as its decently drained and you get good seed to soil contact you are fine.

I would do this around late March or early April. That'll give it time to establish before the summer heat. If not no worries wait till the fall. Clover the first year might not fill out. If all else fails in early fall you can overseed with oats and winter wheat.

CoveyMaster likes this.
    Ruff dislikes this.
  3. Justin Shankle

Justin Shankle Newb

Dislikes Received: