Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Beginner shed hunter

Discussion in 'Shed Hunting' started by hogtiming, Mar 6, 2010.

1. hogtiming

hogtiming Newb

Dislikes Received:
    New to it. Can someone give me some tips?

2. dawg007

dawg007 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    First thing you want is a very nice comfy pair of waterproof boots! Next you better plan on doing some walking for hours on end. Check creek, fence, river, or any other crossings, bedding areas, staging areas, and feeding areas. That is where I find mine. My main spots to find them are bedding areas.

3. wiaxle

wiaxle Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    All about playing the percentages, check the areas that you think the deer are spending alot of time in, but dont forget to check the trails also.

Be prepared to do alot of walking :D

4. rockinchair

rockinchair Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I'm not very good at the sport as I just don't find very many. I just end up walking around aimlessly in the woods.. sometimes in circles:rolleyes:

But seriously, the best advice I could give is like everyone said.. walk.. and walk, and walk; and walk: and walk- etc, etc.

Like I said I haven't found many in my adventures, but they also double as scouting trips, and what I learn about the property and how the deer use it is the biggest thing i take from my shed hunting trips. There is a plethora of knowledge out there that can be learned while doing a little walking this time of year.

5. Ghille1cav

Ghille1cav Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: