Basics of crossbows for beginners help please

Discussion in 'Crossbows' started by tarkenton72, Aug 12, 2013.

1. tarkenton72

tarkenton72 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Well I just moved down to North Carolina from West Virginia this past year and discovered that crossbows are legal to hunt with here (WV you have to be disabled). My father in law is letting me use his Horton explorer this year and i'm trying to get acustomed to it. The target i'm shooting is a styrafoam 2ft tall target with carbon express 20" arrows 100gr field tips......The arrows are basicly ripping through the styrafoam (has already ripped one of my fletchings off of one) and another issue i'm having is inconsistency in the groups....im not using a cocking device didnt know if it was possible for the string to be rolling when I cock it causing the inconsistency or maybe where the styrafoam is eating my fletching (the bacon effect) any and all tips and tricks would be extremely helpful as I am new to this and bow season starts here September 9, 2013
    HELP PLEASE :rant:

2. ETABNT

ETABNT Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Shooting a Xbow is like shooting a Rifle.
    you need to have the same breathing pattern as you would with a Rifle. a Difference in Breathing will change the shot.

Invest in a XBOW target. will will help eliminate the Eating of Fletching. The quick fletch for Xbow bolts are very easy to use and work great. I suggest buying some.

Get a Cocking aid of some kind. the string ones work great. also Horton was bought out by Ten point so you might want to call ten point to see if they have any cranks available still if you are interested in a crank instead. The cocking aid will help insure a smooth even draw back that each limb will have the same amount of pull and not cocked uneven.

Also make sure your bolt lengths and weights and feild points are the same. This will make a HUGE difference in flight

18" bolt
    20" bolt
    22 " bolt
    aluminum or carbon
    weight of FP