Bareshaft "tuning" disaster

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Kfili, Jan 13, 2019.

1. Kfili

Kfili Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Was shooting my bow today and wanted to check my bareshafts. at 20 yards my bareshaft hit the target so sideways it didnt even enter it and I couldnt find it. at 10 yards it hit to the right of my fletched arrow about 4 inches with the nock end way way pointed left. I was suprised it was so bad since earler today I was shooting about 2 inch groups at 60 yards.
    So-where do I start tuning? Im new to it, do I start with a paper tune?
    Im shooting a parker python (solocam) 70lbs 29 in DL. Shooting Victory decimator arrows (DSG brand) 350 cut at 28.5
    Thanks for the help

2. ganderss2424

ganderss2424 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I’m not an expert but I would check your manufactures specs for center shot on your bow and then start bareshaft paper tune. I’ve had the best luck with bareshaft paper tuning. I’ll start at 5 yds get a bullet. Then move to 10 yds until I get a bullet hole and finally end at 15yds. Remember to use the same arrow for this. And the further back
    You get the adjustment become very micro. I do this tune inside in my basement. Just a side note, if you were shooting a lot of arrows, it could be fatigue setting in on your form. Maybe give yourself a breather and pick it back up the next day or two when you are fresh.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. Whitetail

Whitetail Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    This will help with tuning any solocam:

Attached Files:

4. davidingle

davidingle Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: