Axle to Axle information

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by adivo89, Jan 1, 2012.

1. adivo89

adivo89 Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hey guys,

Im doing my research big time because i am new to bow hunting. I have shot, and i shoot decent. But borrowing bows just doesn't work out if you want to be PERFECT on the targets.

During my research i keep seeing Axle to Axle heights.

also brace heights.

What do those numbers represent? But most importantly what do they Impact? What can a larger or smaller number improve?

Thanks for your help.
    -Anthony

2. Christine

Christine Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Axle to axle is the distance between the axles of the cams/wheels.

Here's 22" ATA TNT bow and a 33" ATA bowtech equalizer
    [​IMG]

Brace height is the distance from the center of the grip to the string. Note that the TNT above has a higher brace height than the Bowtech.
    More brace height usually means a more 'forgiving' and quieter bow.

3. Christine

Christine Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
  4. Hoosier Daddy

Hoosier Daddy Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Axle to Axle also known as ATA is the measurement from the center of your top cam or idler pully's axle to your lower cams axle , for bow hunting i like to stay in the 30 to 32 inch axle to axle measurement , a longer ATA for target shooting for instance 34 to 40 ATA .

Your Brace height is measured from the back side and the throught of your grip to your shooting string , for instance a measurement of a 5'' brace height will not be a forgiving shooting bow but in return will carry alot of speed , by me saying not forgiving a short brace height will show alot and everybit of a shooters era's..........A longer brace height is more forgiving and much more pleasurable to shoot with the downfall of loosing some speed for comfort .

I like my ATA around 32'' and my brace heights between 6 and 7 inches for my hunting rigs.

5. InnerX CBS

InnerX CBS Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: