Arrow setup....

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by kentuckybuck, Jan 9, 2020.

1. kentuckybuck

kentuckybuck Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Hey guys, I just wanted to see what you all shot and opinions. I am hunting whitetails mostly. I am thinking of trying the Easton Axis in 300 spine with a 50 gr. tip insert. Then figured I'd shoot 100 gr. broad head. I'll be shooting with my Mathews Halon 32 in 70#. I just want to make sure I get good penetration. But I'd love to hear your alls set up or opinions on what I mentioned going to. I am no pro, heck merely an amateur ha, so I don't mind any help, info, or criticism. Thanks.

JGD and BowhuntOnly like this.
  2. BowhuntOnly

BowhuntOnly Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    At 70# you can get away with a heavy arrow and as you aproach 500 grains you get better penetration...from my experience. There are a few other things to consider with penetration, like broadhead choice. If speed is not your goal, you can go heavier than 500 grains. Your setup, seems ok to me...if you are confident in it, you will be accurate and that will kill a deer! Good luck.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

kentuckybuck likes this.
  3. Kfili

Kfili Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    whats the draw length?

4. JGD

JGD Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I shoot a 340 Easton Axis with a 75 grain insert, 100 gr broadhead and lighted knock at 65 lbs and 29” draw. I use this setup for elk, deer, antelope, bear and hogs and get pass throughs. Took a moose with this as well and it performed great.

kentuckybuck likes this.
  5. kentuckybuck

Dislikes Received:
    30 inch draw.

6. kentuckybuck

Dislikes Received:
    Appreciate the feedback! Sorry not responded sooner, I usually get email notifying me but not the case . But I have been shooting the Axis 340's with no insert, lighted nock, and 100 gr broadhead. So really not changing anything other than the arrow spine.

7. tynimiller