Any Obsession bow shooters here?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by alaska at heart, Jul 5, 2016.

1. alaska at heart

alaska at heart Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I have been shooting Prime bows for well over 3 years and am pretty satisified with my Rivals. However a buddy has been shooting both Prime and Obsession bows for the past couple years and keeps telling me how nice the Obsession bows shoot. He has a Knightmare and Phoenix, along with a Prime Ion that he rotates through. Being retired, he sometimes shoots all 3 in the same day.....LOL Anyone else care to chime in with some feedback about a particular Obsession model and their likes/dislikes?

2. dink

dink Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I'm shooting a Phoenix. It is the smoothest bow I have ever shot. It will probably be replaced by another Obsession.

3. copperhead

copperhead Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I am currently shooting the Def-Con M6. I recently switched to Obsession from a Mathews HTR. For years I had shot Elite then parts got little hard to get when they were first sold so I switch to Hoyt, then Mathews. This year I was looking for a bow with certain specs.

IBO 350+
    Brace 6+
    A2A 33+

The Def-Con met those specs so I went to a dealer a few hours away and shot one. It reminded me of the Elite draw cycle and valley. I also like the grip as its was very much like the Elite.

So you ask why not shoot Elite? Well Elite didn't have the IBO numbers I was looking for. Speed to me is not as important as momentum but with my short draw length, either 26.5 or 27, I needed something with a little more speed to get the numbers I wanted there. The Obsession delivered them all.

I was looking at them last year as well but did not care for the cable slide on the 2015 models. It was plastic and several people had complained about it eating up the cables. The new cable rollers on the 2016 models fixed that as far as I can tell.