2in Expandable to Big?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Jtmoney2002, Jan 13, 2014.

1. Jtmoney2002

Jtmoney2002 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I have been shooting expandables for about ten years .I have had great success with them , a great kill rate and recommend them to most that ask about them. When I started with expandables I started with spitfires 1.5 in cut and they worked great for years .But I wanted to get a head with a little more durability .So I switched to G5 tekan 1.5 in and had good success with it but they discontinued it.So two years ago when they were discontinued I went with the killizone 2 in cut . I figured since I was shooting 73 lbs and an arrow at about 500 grains 2in cut wasn't a horrible idea since so many people are having good luck with them. But I have noticed within the past two years only 25% of the deer I have taken have had full pass throughs resulting in a tough track jobs. I believe the broad heads are good and sharp and reliable.

Have you guys that shoot 2in heads notice the decrease in full pass throughs since moving up in cut size?

2. Nick_P

Nick_P Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I feel that it would be just as difficult to push a 2" two blade through an animal as it would a 1.5" three blade, because of blade surface area. I used to shoot spitfires and had good luck, but i wanted a big hole on entrance too so i went with some Rage Hypodermics. Only thing i have shot so far is a coyote but the hole was great. I would imagine with your setup, just about any broadhead would pass through with a well placed shot

3. trial153

trial153 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Rear deploying expandable....there is your answer right there.

4. maxpetros

maxpetros Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Actually I think a 3 blade 1.5 inch has something near 3 inches of cut surface and a 2 inch 2 blade has around 2.5

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

5. BACKSTRAPASSASSIN