100 vs. 125 gr.

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by LittleJohn, Jan 23, 2011.

1. LittleJohn

LittleJohn Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I'm new to bowhunting as of this past season and, although, I wasn't able to stick one, I'm addicted. Just found this awesome website and this is my first post. Anyways, I went and bought a new Mission Eliminator II from the Matthews "Econo"-line, which I love. When my buddy heard I was getting into bowhunting, he gave me some old accessories of his to help me save a few bucks. One thing was a new pack of Wasp broadheads, 125 gr. So I got 125 gr. field points on my new arrows to keep my practice weight consistant w/ these Wasps. I've, since, noticed that 100 gr. is much more prevelent amoung bowhunters.

Also, I put a 20 yr. old metal Browning stabilizer on it, that my dealer believed is alot heavier than what's used today. My question is, are either of these issues, (the grain weight and the stabilizer), going to significantly effect what I'm trying to do in the woods? Or is whatever I practice with and get used to good enough? Any thoughts?

2. FreundoWIhunter

FreundoWIhunter Newb

Dislikes Received:
    im kinda new to this year was only my second...but i bought a new bow this yr. a 2010 rytera alien x and i absolutely love it! i practice with field tips at first but now i practice wit actual broadheads cuz there is a slight difference in how they fly so its ur choice but practiciing wit broadheads helps u know wat its gonna fly like in the woods
    p.s. i use 100 grain because thats wat the dealer i bought my bow from said to

3. octhereicome

octhereicome Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: