Would you give up 10 years of your life to start a successful business?

Discussion in 'The Water Cooler' started by BJE80, Sep 19, 2014.

1. Double Creek

Double Creek Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I am a small business owner and love every aspect of it. However, I don't think I could handle 80 hr weeks for 10 years straight. That is very, very hard to maintain for just a few months. You will almost certainly lose your wife, miss all of your kids functions, etc. I personally don't think it takes 80 hr weeks to start a successful new business.

2. MnHunterr

MnHunterr Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    I'm only 26 years old, but there is no way I would consider it.... And I don't even have a wife and kids yet.

I truly believe in a work/life balance right now, and believe that the most important and exciting years of my life are coming... I want to be able to enjoy those coming years.

3. cr422

cr422 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    From my experience, what Double Creek says here is absolutely right. Of course, the amount of time you have to put in yourself will depend on the type of business. But 80 hours a week? Maybe right at the start, but not for long.

4. BJE80

BJE80 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    I have a very good friend that started a steer rule die business and he puts in over 100 hours a week for the past 4 years. Not kidding. They just hired their first employee this week.

5. Afflicted

Afflicted Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:

Absolutely! Been there, did that.
    If your serious about this dream/vision then just do it and don't tell anyone your dream. Go to bed each night envisioning what that finical freedom will feel like and what it can do with it for your family and others.