Is a range finder necessary?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by BowMaster5, Sep 19, 2013.

1. BowMaster5

BowMaster5 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Hey guys,

Im very new to bowhunting so I haven't memorized what 20 30 and 40 yards look like yet, so im wondering if a rangefinder is a good investment, because the last thing I want to do it guess the wrong range and miss or injure the deer not killing it.

Just wondering what your guys opinion on this is, and whether you use a range finder or when you started using one, keep in mind im 15 have a job but spending most money on bow stuff, just trying to gets whats necessary.

Thanks

2. cdemarse

cdemarse Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    It's not necessary. But... It is handy and makes things quick and easy.

3. ROOPS

ROOPS Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I learned to pace things off to check yardage on things way before I needed to shoot from there. I practiced this technique in my back yard for the first 2 years of bow hunting. I just recently got a digital rangefinder, and to my surprise my paces are dead on.

4. FEB

FEB Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    That's reason enough right there to get one. It's a must have, for me.

5. PSEREVENGEMAN

PSEREVENGEMAN Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Must have. I have 100 bowstands, hunt the west and rifle hunt. Besides, that followup shot @66 yards is always a possibility.

6. Josh/OH

Josh/OH Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I've paced off steps and marked particular trees, for quick reference... but I think every hunter should have one. I used to take mine to 3D courses. I would take my guess, then my shot (if I was comfortable with it).. then shoot it with the laser for comparison. Do this enough times, and you'll be a pro at judging yardage in no time.

7. seanmoe

seanmoe Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: