First Time Food Plot ( Picture Heavy )

Discussion in 'Food Plots & Habitat Improvement' started by Skywalker, Aug 13, 2011.

1. Skywalker

Skywalker Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I have a 40 acre homestead where I do the majority of my hunting. I have owned the property for about 5 years. The first year, I hunted with little success. I passed on many opportunities for does, and saw some really nice bucks that just stayed out of range. The 2nd season, I was busy building our home, so I didn't get a lot of time in the woods. The 3rd season, I was luck enough to harvest 2 nice bucks off the property. One with a rifle and the other with my bow. Last season I was pretty selective and passed on a couple nice bucks, between 120 and 130, and missed on a great buck. This year, I have had the time, and finally was able to get enough implements to put in a food plot. I have never done this before, so I'm shooting from the hip on this. I kinda got a bit of a late start since I just purchased the implements a couple weeks ago. Here is a bit of a photo journal of my first food plot attempt:

I did not have time to get a proper soil test, but I did check the Ph w. the Biologic Ph meter. Tested in several locations, and they all were over 6.5 ph, so I didn't feel any lime was necessary. This food plot sits in a low area that floods up in the springs, so I feel the soil is probably pretty fertile from all the sediment that gets left in it:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I brush hogged a little over 1/4 acre where I am putting the plot. Then I came back w. my box blade and scrapped all of the duff off the top of the soil. I put the scarriffs down just a little and that actually ripped up much of the grass roots, leaving mostly just exposed top soil:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I then tilled the ground with my new Buhler tiller. That thing is awsome:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]