I am very new to bow hunting. Any advice helps!

Discussion in 'Bowhunt or Die® - Web Show' started by Myles Marburger, Nov 30, 2020.

1. Mod-it

Mod-it Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    You've gotten great advice.
    There are many, many good bow manufacturers. I'm with VAbowman, go with what has the specs you want and feels good when you test shoot it. My current bowtech Carbon Knight was a 2 year hold over when I bought it, and cost $500 bare bow. Reviews I read about it said it had a horrible grip feel, yet it is actually one of my favorites out of all my bows. It just works for me, so don't let reviews on things like that deter you, try it out yourself anyway. I've never owned a flagship bow in my 35 or so years of enjoying archery. Search around for bow shops in your area and then visit them. I'd also wait until after x-mas. A good bow shop, besides being knowledgeable, will be willing to give some beginner advice on form and gear, will set up and let you shoot some of the bows that fit your needs, and won't be pushy about which bow or gear to buy. They will spend the time giving you some beginner form advice, dialing in your draw length, setting the bow up with a peep, quiver, sight, rest, and stabilizer (nice, but optional in the beginning if money is tight), help you choose properly spined arrows with proper hunting weight, recommend a release aid, and tune your new bow (most times by paper tuning) so the arrows fly straight. When they paper tune it should involve more than just rest adjustments.
    Be aware of your state's laws regarding what broad heads are legal to use before you buy.