What was your first kill?

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Agi Ambre, Jun 18, 2021.

1. Agi Ambre

Agi Ambre Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Is that an appropriate question?
    I realize a lot of people on here have been hunting for most of there life. I think I've only talked to one or two others on here that identify as "Late Onset Hunter" like myself. I have never killed anything other than fish and shark. This is my first year with a hunting license and some skill to make a vital shot.
    So what was that first kill? What was the first big hunt? Do your nerves still get shook like they did the first time? was there a story that went with it or was it just shooting squirrels with a BB gun?

2. Fix

Fix Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    My advice is kill as many does as you can eat or give away. The more you kill the better you get at it

MUDSHARK, grommel, JFerg3 and 6 others like this.
  3. cantexian

cantexian Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    My first deer was a button buck. Do not get hung up on the size of the animal, this is the worst mistake a new hunter can make when deciding whether or not to shoot. Shoot the first legal animal that you feel comfortable with the shot opportunity. Know your limits and do not take a shot you are not confident in making.

4. westdesign03

westdesign03 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I’m a little bit in your boat I feel like. I’ve been hunting off and on for probably 12-15 years. Hunting more seriously in the last 5 years. I’ve only killed 3 deer so far. 2 does and a buck.