Specialized Arrow Selection

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by DawgFace, Dec 16, 2020.

1. DawgFace

DawgFace Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I'm brand new to Bowhunting and as such the process of bow and arrow selection is a bit dauting. I'm hoping I can get some recommendations to the best of your ability as I know factors play in to it that requires more personalized info.

So here goes, my Grandparents are having problems with coyotes. They've been hazing them with horns, rocks and garden hoses and while seems to work then and there. The coyotes continue to come back time and time again. Now they have asked me to step in and help. Their request is very specific to not killing them but painful hazing. I'm not one to place my opinion in matters that do not call for it. Here killing or hazing isn't a choice I have to make or even can at this point. They believe kill will increase their numbers and they believe it strongly.

My plan is to use bludgeon tips (Saunders Archery Bludgeon) and tag them as they come near their "no go zone". Which is property where their dogs, cats and other animals they have commonly share on their small farm.

I bought a Hoyt Bow which is set at 70lbs and adjustable down. My draw length is 28" to which it is set at as well. 70lbs is something I can comfortable draw so for me the bow is perfect. I just need to match an arrow.

Problems I'm having relate to basic questions of which arrow. But also pertain to real world experience that I just do not have. For instance, I was thinking 70lbs bow, heavy FMJ arrow and bludgeon tip would be the best. Then I started thinking at what point does a bludgeon tip no longer bludgeon but rather pierce and become very very lethal. My guess is if that can and does happen it would happen with exactly that setup. So because of thinking like this on my part I'm hoping to cut a few corners by getting answers from experts here. I still have a lot of research to do and I know that.