First Time Arrow Build

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by fishsoft92, Oct 19, 2020.

1. fishsoft92

fishsoft92 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    so, im thinking of fully building my arrows for the first time before next season. My thought process is tha i need to re string my bow and get more arrows anyway, but easton no longer makes the bowfires that ive been shooting for 3 or 4 years now. all that being the case, i had a few questions on the process.

1. is there any reason i cant use the dremel i have with a metal cutting wheeel to make the cut if i build a jig with lumber i have on hand from remodeling my house?

2. i tend to like my arrows longer than my draw length requires, how much is too much?

3. ive seen some guys go as far as to shoot bare shaft and decide vane orientation based on what the shaft itself does, is that really worth all the extra time or should i just stay with the right offset i always have?

4. slightly different but related topic, how much of a jump from building arrows is it to building out your bow yourself, like getting a press and vice and all that?

any advice would be greatly appreciated, all ive ever done is refletch arrows that have had their vanes cut or hit while tuning or target shooting.

2. Fix

Fix Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    You can cut your own arrows without any impact. Just try to go high speed as possible and cut them flat.
    As for length you can go as long as you would like but always revert back to the chart when determining spine once you have decided on length.
    I don't go as far as checking for heavy side for spine but I do bare shaft tune. If you are going to have the arrows bare might as well. I prefer helical on my vanes but to each their own.
    As for rig that's up to money. I plan on getting a vice and press and unit to check cycle but my local shop let's me use theirs. If you have the funds it's always better to own one.

Good luck and let us know what you do

3. Katt72