Illinois Bow Hunting During Firearm Season

Discussion in 'Midwest' started by Derrek Schwartz, Jan 7, 2020.

1. Derrek Schwartz

Derrek Schwartz Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I am somewhat new to bowhunting and have read the IDNR hunting and trapping regulations over and over to try and get a clear answer on this. Can you bow hunt during the 2 main firearm seasons in Illinois? The regulations digest is very confusing. In certain spots it seems that it is only legal in a few counties however in other sections it states it is legal if hunting on private land but must use a firearm tag. If anyone has a better understanding on this I would love to hear from you. I am located in southern Illinois and hunt private land mainly.

2. short69

short69 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    From the DNR handbook page 18

During Firearm Deer Season hunters with a valid, unfilled Firearm Deer Permit may, on private land only, use archery equipment meeting all legal requirements as outlined in the Archery Deer Hunting section hereafter.

3. Derrek Schwartz

Derrek Schwartz Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I have read that part and that section makes me believe it is open however on page 13 under Archery (Counties with a firearm season and west of Route 47 in Kane County) it says Archery is open 1 Oct–21 Nov and 25 Nov–4 Dec and 9 Dec 2019–19 Jan 2020 which would have archery closed the 2 main firearm seasons 22-24 Nov and 5–8 Dec 2019.

4. bowhunt4abuck

bowhunt4abuck Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    What they did is make a bow a legal weapon to use with a firearm tag. The bow tags are invalid during shotgun season. Shoot the deer with your bow, put a shotgun tag on it. When you turn it in it will ask you what weapon was used say bow. Perfectly legal. Must wear hunter orange.

Sent from my iPhone using Bowhunting.com Forums

short69 likes this.
  5. BuckHunterUnlimited

BuckHunterUnlimited Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received: