New From NC

Discussion in 'Introductions - New User Forum' started by Hoolz, Jun 24, 2020.

1. Hoolz

Hoolz Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Completely new to hunting. Decided I wanted to learn to bow hunt so I bought a Matthews (not sure what type). It is a compound bow with a fixed 3-pin sight and no stabilizer. I have no idea where to begin other than to practice with the bow. I've taken some hunter safety courses and I was able to get some harvest tags, but I don't know any hunters. I just don't know where to begin. Gear, location, method, etc. Complete noob here.

So, when the time comes, how do I go about preparing and finding a spot to hunt (deer or turkey)?

Thanks.

Leryt likes this.
  2. Fix

Fix Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Welcome!!! First thing first look for ground that you can hunt. Either public or private with access. Knock on doors look at maps, mail out letters. Do whatever you can to find woods. While doing that get to know your rig. Shoot every chance you get. Bring us any questions you have and we are happy to help.

3. wl704

wl704 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Welcome neighbor! Where in NC are ya?

Wrt the bow, tuning, technique, etc, find a good local shop and/or league.

For gamelands, call the GW for your zone (a nice rainy day he may have time to chat) or go walk a property and explore. Notice trails (people and non), browsed plants, dense cover, water... Especially at dawn or dusk you may see wildlife of your still and quiet... Observe.

Or find a farmer, introduce yourself and ask if maybe you could help lend him a hand if he'll let you hunt (or lease) his property.

4. Hoolz

Hoolz Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks, I did some internet searches and found some public lands. When the season comes, I need nothing other than some gear and tags to hunt? I don't need any special permit, parking permit, or anything else? I can just go out into the public lands and pick a spot to hunt?

5. Hoolz

Hoolz Newb