How has the virus outbreak affected your job

Discussion in 'The Water Cooler' started by pastorjim08, Apr 15, 2020.

1. pastorjim08

pastorjim08 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    So I'm curious as to how everyone's work has been affected by everything going on. My own personal situation, including my immediate family is this.

Me: I am a respiratory therapist/chaplain in a small hospital. There has been an enormous amount of prep and training on equipment that is to be used in case there is a huge surge in critically ill patients. It is very tense because you have to treat everyone you come in contact with as if they are positive. So my work load, and stress level, has definitely increased.

My wife: Has her own photography business which is pretty much shut down right now. She also works for a physical therapy clinic and has had her hours slightly reduced because of decreased work load due to lack of referrals from the doctors.

Oldest daughter and husband: She manages a pet store and her hours are significantly reduced. Her husband is a nurse at the local VA and they are really working them hard.

Middle daughter and her husband: She has her own bakery and her business is off the charts busy. She can barely keep up. Her husband works at the same VA as my other son-in-law in support services and his hours are about the same.

Youngest daughter and her husband: She has her own internet advertising business and pretty much works from home, so her business is pretty much unaffected. Her husband is in medical sales and he is killing it right now. (I'm thinking of asking them to adopt me)

So how is everyone else doing in your work lives? I feel very sorry for those who have lost their jobs/businesses or had their hours drastically reduced. I pray this will end soon and things will get back to normal as quickly as possible. I really want to hear everyone's stories.

Blessings.......Pastorjim

Sent from my RCT6703W13 using Tapatalk

trial153 likes this.