Tree Saddles, Lock on and climber, I just don't get it.

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Vabowman, Nov 14, 2019.

1. Scott/IL

Scott/IL Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I’ve been using my Lone Wolf setup for 10 years now and I’ve gotten pretty good at getting it set up quickly and quietly over that time. I always found climbers noisy too. I hunt mobile probably 75% of the time.

2 years ago me and buddy went to Kentucky to hunt some velvet bucks in September. Opening day I had scouted I ridge loaded with acorns and he went about 100 yards away with his climber. He was up his tree before me for sure, because I could hear every move his stand made against the bark. For me that’s too much noise.

I’m tempted to try a saddle out, but they just don’t seem comfortable to me, and they aren’t exactly cheap just to try to experiment with. I definitely see their value for those long treks on public land though.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. cantexian

cantexian Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Yes, the initial cost on a saddle set up costs about as much as buying a Lone Wolf stand and stick set up. Which is fine if you only buy one stand set up. For the people that drop money on mulitple stand set ups, the cost saving of a saddle are astronomical. I only spent that money once, not multiple times. A saddle replaces the need for multiple stand set ups. That is where the money is saved.

dnoodles likes this.
  3. SouthDakotaHunter

SouthDakotaHunter Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received: