Chainsaw upgrade

Discussion in 'Food Plots & Habitat Improvement' started by Fix, Sep 2, 2019.

1. Fix

Fix Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    So I'll be purchasing a new saw in a few weeks. I only use Stihl so what model does everyone like. I think I'm between the wood boss and farm boss. I will be using it for habitat. Fire wood as well but we have a primary saw for that. I'm looking for a saw that's medium sized and balanced.

2. Sota

Sota Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    Get a pro series saw like an 044. You want a saw with a driver rather than just a clutch sprocket. You will not regret spending a few extra $ to get a much more durable and higher performance saw.

Ebaybow and Fix like this.
  3. Okiebob

Okiebob Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I've been rocking an MS290 for the last 10 years and have yet to have a problem with it other than changing the bar out a couple of times, normal stuff. The last time I was in the shop I was getting all giddy on one of the pro series but mine is just fine.

Fix likes this.
  4. Holt

Holt Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Check out the ms 241. It's a pro saw and small. But for the weight and power, it is a beast! I love mine and is pretty much my go to saw. From factory it only recommend a 16" bar max. The secret to this saw is the smaller Pico chain. Little less kerf, so it cuts faster then a standard 3/8 chain. They also make the ms261 which is slightly more motor. Also as a pro saw it has the auto tune carb, so no adjustments.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

5. trial153

trial153 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I got a farm boss, think-its a 5271. Anyway it’s been solid and trouble free. Has plenty of balls too....

Last edited: Sep 2, 2019
  6. Jeckolame

Jeckolame Newb

Dislikes Received:
    +1
    [​IMG]

7. Sota

Sota Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received: