Hunting Hawaii

Discussion in 'Intro to Bowhunting & Archery' started by Laszlo Tengerdy, Aug 25, 2019.

1. Laszlo Tengerdy

Laszlo Tengerdy Newb

Dislikes Received:
    So... I am brand new to Bowhunting but iv been doing my homework and learning everything is like leaning to walk again.

Iv been fishing nearly my whole life and understand animal needs, wants, etc. I’m here asking for a little help as to good resources to learn about Bowhunting and more specialically boar, goats, and axis deer.

1. What shop on O‘ahu can do a trustworthy tune up and help me get dialed in?

2. How would I go about applying for an axis deer tags?

3. Any suggestions on how to find a partner to hunt with?

4. Is there anything I can can do to give back and pass on my knowledge of spearfishing?

Last note I am an extreme novice so any words of wisdom are greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Laz

BowhuntOnly likes this.
  2. Fix

Fix Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Well, welcome to the forum. I am unsure how many of us have that specific knowledge base you are looking for but you may be able to glean what you need via adaptation of styles discussed here. Good luck and please post pics as I have never hunted there or those!

3. Hillbilly Jedi

Hillbilly Jedi Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Welcome to the forum. Each state will have their individual laws and regulations for hunting. Below is the site for Hawaii.

https://dlnr.hawaii.gov/recreation/hunting/

I didn't look into it but they should have just about everything you need to get started regarding license, method of take, (gun/bow), and tags for available species and everything like that. O'ahu is a pretty big island so I'd imagine there's at least one decent bow shop there who will hopefully have answers for the area. Best of luck to ya and have fun!

4. Laszlo Tengerdy

Laszlo Tengerdy Newb

Dislikes Received:
    No doubt there will be some pictures in the near future!

5. Laszlo Tengerdy

Laszlo Tengerdy Newb