3D target schematics?

Discussion in 'Target Archery' started by John T., May 22, 2019.

1. John T.

John T. Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I have mentioned I am an NASP coach. Many kids have never seen the target area for 3D targets or a 3D target. I'm looking for something in paper or thin plastic that I can pin to the regular targets to get them used to the target area at 10 meters and 15 meters. My elementary school kids did real good at the TN state shoot but I want them to be better prepared this coming season. TIA. Keep 'em in the X ring!

2. slickbilly-d

slickbilly-d Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
  3. John T.

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks. That is listed as ASA. Not familiar with ASA. NASP 3D is shot under IBO rules. I have the NASP/IBO rules available on the NASP website. Will compare the two. But that would be what I'm looking for to allow the archers to be familiar with the layout of the scoring area. Again, thanks.

4. slickbilly-d

Dislikes Received:
    The middle red 11 ring is ibo

5. John T.

Dislikes Received:
    Again, thanks. Some of the kids this school year never shot a bow let alone seen a NASP target of 3D target. That will be a big help to visualize the scoring area.

6. John T.

Dislikes Received:
    Here is the rule for scoring. Tried to copy the photo illustrating the scoring areas but not computer-wise.
    5.3. The scoring rings are 10, 9, & 8. Any arrow outside the 8-ring but on the animal is scored a 7. Arrows in the horns (sheep & antelope), antlers (deer), or stump (turkey) are scored zero.

7. slickbilly-d

Dislikes Received:
  8. wl704

wl704 Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    I've used 1" stickers in a contrasting color.

Alternatives if you need bigger plastic or lids/caps. A small piece of busted arrow shaft to pin them to a target (may need a nail to punch a hole).

Also used paint on personal targets, with a template cut from some plastic which I usually have in recycling.

9. John T.