Arrow not at all level but shooting bullet holes

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Scott McLeod, May 14, 2019.

1. Scott McLeod

Scott McLeod Newb

Dislikes Received:
    I am new to bow tuning, meaning until now i have always had shops do it, but doing it myself now, and running into problems (not surprisingly...).

Shooting a Hoyt RX-1, #2 cams, 55-65lbs (currently running it about 59lbs)
    27" draw (the shortest on the cams)
    Hamskea Hybrid Pro Rest
    Shooting Beman ICS Hunter Elite arrows 340, 9.3 gpi, 27" with 125 gr field tips

I bought the bow used, from someone with a 30" draw length, so I shortened the draw length and removed the old D-loop and center serving, which was pretty flattened. I then re-served the string, adjusted the rest so that the arrow passed through the center of the berger button, then used an arrow leveling kit to set the arrow square to the string (90 degrees), tied nocking points above and below the nock, then tied my D-Loop. Keep in mind, this is my first time doing all this, but I have reasonable attention to detail, so I think i did a pretty good job. I do NOT have a vice, so setting the arrow level was done with some creative use of rags/pillows, so i could hold the bow plumb and steady.

I do have a press, so I also checked cam timing, which is now synced, as well as set the cam lean parallel to bow strong at rest (i.e. NOT at full draw).

Well, when i went to do my first bare shaft tuning at 6 ft., i was shooting nock high tears pretty bad, like an inch of tear. To overcome this, i had to raise the rest significantly. By raising it about 1/8+", i still have a slight high tear with bare shaft, but shooting bullet holes with vanes. However, when i put the level on the arrow, it is now way off, with the arrow tip significant higher than the nock, which i just don't like.