New to Forum - Advice on arrows

Discussion in 'Introductions - New User Forum' started by Cannon06, Nov 23, 2018.

1. Cannon06

Cannon06 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I've been bowhunting for several years, and recently upgraded to a Halon 6, with a 60lb pull, shooting 400 grain arrows.

For shots 40 yards and longer, should I stick with 400 grain, or try and go with lighter arrow for better speed? Any thoughts/advice on speed v penetration, thanks.

2. JasonOhio2018

JasonOhio2018 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    I’m no expert but I wouldn’t go lighter for sure. Does 400 grain include your broadheads? What type of broadheads are you shooting?

dnoodles likes this.
  3. Cannon06

Cannon06 Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Rage Hypodermic, 100 grain. So total arrow weight 500 grains. My thought was to go to a 350 grain arrow. With broadhead weight, should have plenty of penetration.

4. trial153

trial153 Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    Seems like you already have your mind made up .

5. JasonOhio2018

JasonOhio2018 Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received:
    Personally if I were shooting 60lbs I’d be looking for a heavier set up rather than lighter. Your 60lb halon shoots PLENTY fast enough.

6. Kyle Rayburn

Kyle Rayburn Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I’m not trying to belittle you in the least but are you sure it’s 400 grain arrow and it’s not 400 spine arrow? Only reason I ask is because I know a lot of people make that mistake and awfully exact numbers so just thought I’d ask man.

Mathews Halon
    Black Eagle outlaws
    Magnus Buzzcut 4 blades
    Nasty combo

7. Kyle Rayburn

Dislikes Received:
    Whatever the case though I would agree with Jason and keep the heavier arrow.

Mathews Halon
    Black Eagle outlaws
    Magnus Buzzcut 4 blades
    Nasty combo

8. Hillbilly Jedi

Hillbilly Jedi Die Hard Bowhunter

Dislikes Received: