Tree saddle hunting...

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by mikerock85, Jun 25, 2014.

1. drslyr

drslyr Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I bought the Kestral and Mantis. Still waiting on the mantis. I decided to try this route because of some neck and back surgeries. I cant carry the weight of a tree stand and my filming gear anymore. The Mantis weighs only 18oz. That sure beats 21lbs for my lone wolf climber. This past Sat I hunted bear for four hrs. out of the saddle while filming for a young buck from work. It was awesome. no discomfort whatsoever. IMG_2141.JPG

Happy likes this.
  2. drslyr

drslyr Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    IMG_2144.JPG IMG_2144.JPG

Happy likes this.
  3. early in

early in Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I just want to hear from somebody who's done an all day sit during the rut with one these things. I climb trees for a living, and I spend a lot of time in a saddle, but I would not even consider one for hunting. There's too many variables. I'll stick with my LW. :biggrin:

SheddingLightTravis likes this.
  4. Holt

Holt Grizzled Veteran

Dislikes Received:
    I have. There is no more discomfort then hunting from a stand. I would always need to stand once and awhile doing all sits on a lock on. It's the same with the saddle. Every couple hours I go from sitting position to a leaning position. I did 5 hour the other night just leaning and only had mild hip pinch the next day. But that's normal for the first few sits of the season no matter what I'm hunting from. There is night and day difference between a hunting saddle and arborsite saddle. You should try one sometime since you are a climber, you might be surprised how much you will like it. If you wanted to try mine one day, I'm only 30 minutes south of Philly.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Bowhunting.com Forums mobile app

5. drslyr

drslyr Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Western ma here if anyone wants to try a Kestral

Trenton Loewen likes this.