Best Compund Bow on a Budget... Advice

Discussion in 'Bowhunting Talk' started by Kalen Keach, Oct 2, 2018.

1. Kalen Keach

Kalen Keach Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Hey Ya’ll, I’m new to bow hunting and and am looking for advice on whether I should get a new budget friendly RTH package or pickup a higher end used bow. I’m trying to stay under $500 OTd. I’ve narrowed it down to the options below and I’d appreciate any advice you can offer!

New(old stock) Bear Anarchy HC
    New Bear Approach
    New PSE Stinger
    New(old stock) Bowtech Fuel
    Used Mathews Switchback XT
    Used Bowtech Assassin
    Used Bowtech Patriot
    Used Mission Craze
    Used Hoyt Reflex Growler

I’d like something that’s a solid “hunting” bow with the power to take down an elk and the comfort to carry on long hikes in.

2. cdemarse

cdemarse Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Personally I'd go with the bear. Never had any issues with any of mine and the user adjustability without buying anything extra is great.

3. Kalen Keach

Kalen Keach Newb

Dislikes Received:
    Thanks for the advice. Do you think the Anarchy HC or the Approach is a better model? I can get the Anarchy bow alone in the plastic for $300 or the Approach RTH package for $500.

4. DeepSouthDad

DeepSouthDad Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    I love bear bows but out of this list I would go with a bow tech. I shoot a bear and my son has a bowtech fuel and it is a great little bow, light, quiet, shoots great.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

5. cdemarse

cdemarse Weekend Warrior

Dislikes Received:
    Approach is a newer model. 330fps. I'd go that route. The rth stuff will get you by but you will probably want to upgrade those over time.

6. dnoodles

dnoodles Legendary Woodsman

Dislikes Received:
    if you stick with the sport, you will end up dumping a lot of money into replacing "RTH" accessories with upgrades.